2015 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic Bracket Announced

Eight Teams ready for Hawaii’s Holiday College Basketball Tournament

The bracket for the 2015 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic – to be played Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, Dec. 22, 23, & 25 in Honolulu – has been set. The eight competing teams include Auburn, BYU, Harvard, New Mexico, Northern Iowa, Oklahoma, Washington State and host Hawai‘i.

The multi-day, destination event will feature 12 games over three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracketed-tournament format. Three of the 12 matchups, including the championship game, will be showcased on ESPN2. A minimum of seven games will be carried on ESPNU with two additional games to be shown on ESPNU or ESPN3.

Entering its seventh year, the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic will again be played at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, where it has become a holiday tradition on the island of O’ahu.

The tournament tips off Tuesday, with Auburn (Southeastern Conference) pitted against New Mexico (Mountain West) at 9:30 a.m. HT on ESPNU, immediately followed by BYU (West Coast) versus Harvard (Ivy League) at 11:30 a.m. on ESPNU. Tuesday’s evening session will feature Oklahoma (Big 12) versus Washington State (Pac-12) at 6 p.m. on ESPNU and wrap with a battle between Northern Iowa (Missouri Valley) and tournament host Hawai’i (Big West) at 8 p.m. Tuesday on ESPNU.

Four of the participating teams appeared in the 2014-15 postseason, including BYU, Harvard, Northern Iowa, and Oklahoma.

Date Time (HT) Game Network
Tue, Dec 22 9:30 a.m. Auburn vs. New Mexico ESPNU
  11:30 a.m. BYU vs. Harvard ESPNU
  6:00 p.m. Oklahoma vs. Washington State ESPNU
  8:00 p.m. Northern Iowa vs. Hawaii ESPNU
Wed, Dec 23 9:30 a.m. Consolation #1 ESPNU
  11:30 a.m. Semifinal #1 ESPNU
  4:00 p.m. Semifinal #2 ESPN2
  6:30 p.m. Consolation #2 ESPNU
Fri, Dec 25 8:00 or 10:30 a.m. 7th-place Game ESPNU or ESPN3
  8:00 or 10:30 a.m. 5th-place Game ESPNU or ESPN3
  1:30 p.m. 3rd-place Game ESPN2
  3:30 p.m. Championship Game ESPN2

Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Schedule subject to change)

ESPN Events ESPN Events, a division of ESPN, owns and operates a large portfolio of 32 collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes three Labor Day weekend college football games; FCS opening-weekend game; 15 college bowl games, 10 college basketball events, a college softball event and two college award shows, which accounts for approximately 375-plus hours of live programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over 800,000 attendees each year. With satellite offices in Albuquerque, Birmingham, Boca Raton, Boise, Dallas-Fort Worth, Honolulu, Las Vegas, Montgomery and St. Petersburg, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans. ESPN Events also manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program. Collegiate Football Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl (Atlanta); Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl (Tampa, Fla.); Cheribundi Boca Raton Bowl (Florida); Camping World Kickoff (Orlando, Fla.); Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise); DXL Frisco Bowl (Texas); Guardian Credit Union FCS Kickoff (Montgomery, Ala.); Jared Birmingham Bowl (Alabama); Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); Makers Wanted Bahamas Bowl (Nassau);  MEAC/SWAC Challenge (Atlanta); Mitsubishi Motors Las Vegas Bowl (Nevada); Myrtle Beach Bowl (South Carolina); New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Raycom Media Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.); SERVPRO First Responder Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); SoFi Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu); The Home Depot College Football Awards (Atlanta) Collegiate Basketball AdvoCare Invitational (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Armed Forces Classic (Fort Bliss, Texas); Charleston Classic (South Carolina); College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s (Los Angeles); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s Classic presented by Corona (New York City); Jimmy V Women’s Classic Presented by Corona (South Bend, Ind.); Myrtle Beach Invitational (Conway, S.C.); NIT Season Tip-Off (Brooklyn, N.Y.); State Farm Champions Classic (Indianapolis) and Wooden Legacy (Fullerton, Calif.) Collegiate Softball St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational (Clearwater, Fla.) For more information, visit the official website, Facebook, Twitter or YouTube pages.