New Mexico State

After a record 28-win season in 2016-17 and an appearance in the NCAA Tournament, first year head coach Chris Jans looks to lead the Aggies back to the Big Dance for the upcoming 2017-18 campaign. New Mexico State returns a pair of all-conference players in Eli Chuha and Jemerrio Jones. Chuha was a Second-Team All-WAC honor as a sophomore year, averaging 12.4 points while pulling down a team-best 8.9 rebounds per game. Chuha also boasted the team’s best field-goal percentage, standing at 61-percent. Jones, who was named to the WAC All-Newcomers team, dropped 9.7 points per game while grabbing 8.4 boards per contest. Red-shirt senior Johnathon Wilkins and Las Cruces native Joe Garza are amongst returners for the Aggies. Sidy N’Dir returns to the court after missing most of the season with an injury while Ohio State transfer AJ Harris takes the court in the Crimson and White for the first time after sitting out last season due to NCAA transfer rules. The Aggies also get local product Johnny McCants this season after red-shirting last year. Jans and his new coaching staff have worked tirelessly on the recruiting trail since taking over the program and have reloaded their roster with five transfers and two freshmen. The five transfers for New Mexico State are highlighted by the SWAC Player of the Year, Zach Lofton, who comes to the Aggies as a graduate transfer. Joining Lofton is Keyon Jones (Odessa College), Shunn Buchanon (Northeast Mississippi College), Wayne Stewart (Lamar CC) and Leston Gordon (Lee College). New Mexico State also added the services of a perimeter shooter in Gabe Hadley and dynamic guard in Kortrijk Miles.

Team Roster

  # Player Name Pos Class  
  0 C.J. Bobbitt F JR  
  0 Robert Brown F FR  
  0 Keyon Jones G JR  
  0 Jabari Rice G FR  
  1 Shunn Buchanan G SO  
  2 Wayne Stewart G JR  
  3 Gabe Hadley G FR  
  5 Kortrijk Miles G FR  
  10 Jemerrio Jones F SR  
  11 Johnathon Wilkins F SR  
  12 A.J. Harris G SO  
  13 Sidy N'Dir G JR  
  15 Joe Garza G SR  
  22 Eli Chuha F JR  
  23 Zach Lofton G SR  
  24 Leston Gordon C JR  
  35 Johnny McCants F JR