View Teams



Auburn Tigers

The Tigers, who are ranked 24th in ESPN's initial BPI computer ratings, welcome back their four leading scorers from last season: Freshman All-SEC Mustapha Heron (15.2), Danjel Purifoy (11.5), Jared Harper (11.4) and Austin Wiley (8.8), as Auburn was the only team in the country to have freshmen as its top four scorers last season. Auburn returns 72.8 percent of its scoring and 65.8 percent of its rebounding from 2016-17 when the Tigers won 18 games, the most wins since 2008-09. It is the highest percentage of scoring and rebounding the Tigers have returned in 10 years. Auburn last played in the Gildan Charleston Classic in 2012.


Clemson Tigers

The Tigers return eight players from last season, including Scott Spencer who missed most of last season due to injury. At the same time, Clemson welcomes six newcomers, including David Skara who redshirted last season after transferring from Valparaiso. Mark Donnal is a graduate transfer from the University of Michigan and both Donnal and Skara compliment four freshmen who are new to the fold for 2017-18. Clemson made it to the championship game of the Gildan Charleston Classic in 2013.


Dayton Flyers

Dayton makes a return trip to the Gildan Charleston Classic after last competing in 2012. The Flyers announced Anthony Grant as the 20th head coach in school history on March 30, 2017. Grant was most recently on the coaching staff of the NBA's Oklahoma City Thunder, working with athletes such as Kevin Durant and Russell Westbrook. He spent the last two seasons on Billy Donovan's staff after nine seasons as head coach at Alabama and VCU and 13 seasons as a Division I assistant coach. In nine seasons as a head coach, Grant took his teams to three NCAA tournament appearances and six postseason tournament berths. He has a career record of 193-110 (.637).


Hofstra Pride

Now in his fifth season at the helm of the Hofstra Men’s Basketball program, Joe Mihalich has engineered a strong resurgence of the Pride in four years. Mihalich has led Hofstra to 59 wins over the past three seasons and the Pride has averaged more than 17 wins a season since Mihalich took over the program. Hofstra heads into this season with renewed excitement as the Pride will be led by a trio of stars in senior rebounding force Rokas Gustys, junior scoring machine Justin Wright-Foreman and sophomore sensation Eli Pemberton. This group will be joined by several other talented returnees to join forces with a strong class of newcomers as Hofstra looks to challenge for the top spot in the Colonial Athletic Association this season. Hofstra previously appeared in the Charleston Classic in 2008.

Indiana State

Indiana State Sycamores

The Indiana State Sycamores return to the hardwood for the 2017-18 campaign under the direction of eighth-year head coach Greg Lansing. Indiana State’s lone returning full time starter is Brenton Scott who averaged 15.9 points per game and connected on 73 3-pointers one year ago. Other important contributors return including senior Brandon Murphy who recorded 10 starts last year in the post and averaged 4.2 points and 3.5 rebounds per game as well as junior Emondre Rickman who tallied 3.3 points and 2.7 rebounds per game.

Old Dominion

Old Dominion Monarchs

One of the most respected teachers in the collegiate ranks, Jeff Jones has coached his teams to 13 postseason appearances, including a 1995 NCAA Elite 8, a 1993 NCAA Sweet 16 appearance, an NIT championship in 1992 and a NIT semifinal birth in 2015. Jones is in the midst of his fifth season at the helm in Norfolk, Va. Last season, the Monarchs finished with a 19-12 overall record and a 12-6 mark in C-USA play, finishing third in the conference.


Ohio Bobcats

Saul Phillips enters his third season as the head coach of the Ohio men's basketball program in 2016-17. Ohio posted 23 victories in 2015-16 -- including an 11-7 mark in Mid-American Conference play. The 2015-16 Ohio squad matched the 1998-99 team for the biggest turnaround in program history. The Bobcats improved by 13 wins under Phillips after posting just 10 victories in 2014-15. The 2015-16 Bobcats matched the 1982-83 team for the sixth-most wins in a single season in program history. This will be the Bobcats first appearance in the Gildan Charleston Classic.


Temple Owls

One of 25 active NCAA Division I coaches with 500 victories, Fran Dunphy is in his 12th season at the helm of the Temple men's basketball program in 2017-18. The all-time winningest coach in Philadelphia Big 5 history, Dunphy is also just the fifth coach to win 200 at two different Division I programs while also taking both schools to six or more NCAA Tournaments.  He has joined Lou Henson (New Mexico, Illinois), Rick Pitino (Kentucky, Louisville), Eddie Sutton (Arkansas, Oklahoma State) and Roy Williams (Kansas, North Carolina) in this elite club. Temple returns 10 letter-winners, including four starters, from last season's team and head coach Fran Dunphy also welcomes four high-profile freshmen to the mix.  The Owls last competed in the Gildan Charleston Classic in 2012.

Directions to arena


TD Arena
301 Meeting St
Charleston, SC 29401