Grand Canyon added to 2018 Wooden Legacy field


Grand Canyon University has been added as the eighth school in the 2018 Wooden Legacy.  The Thanksgiving week basketball tournament will be played on Thursday, Nov. 22 through Sunday, Nov. 25, at Titan Gym on the campus of Cal State Fullerton.


A member of the Western Athletic Conference, Grand Canyon joins Fresno State (Mountain West Conference), Hawai’i (Big West) LaSalle (Atlantic 10), Miami (Atlantic Coast), Northwestern (Big Ten), Seton Hall (Big East) and Utah (Pac-12) in the 2018 Wooden Legacy field.


Grand Canyon joins Miami, Seton Hall and Utah as 2018 Wooden Legacy schools competing in the 2018 postseason.  Miami (No. 6 seed in the South Region) and Seton Hall (No. 8 seed in the Midwest Region) earned bids to the 2018 NCAA Championships.  Both Miami and Seton Hall will be playing for the third-straight season in the NCAAs.


Utah, advanced to the NIT for the 14th time.  The post-season appearance is the fifth-straight for the Utes under coach Larry Krystkowiak.


Grand Canyon is coached by Dan Majerle, the three-time NBA All-Star and member of the USA Basketball Men’s Senior National team at both the 1988 Olympics and 1994 FIBA World Championship.  The Antelopes, who earned a berth in the College Basketball Invitational Tournament, will be playing in the post-season for the fourth-time under Majerle with past appearances in the 2014, 2015 and 2016 Tournament.


Fresno State (21-11), Grand Canyon (22-11), Miami (22-9) and Seton Hall (21-11) won 20 or more games in 2017-2018, with Utah currently at 19-11.  Overall, the eight schools in the 2018 Wooden Legacy combined for a 150-102 record (59.5%).


The Wooden Legacy was formed in June 2013 when the John R. Wooden Classic was merged with the Anaheim Classic, which was an eight-school bracketed event played for six years (2007-2012) at the Anaheim Convention Center.


Past Anaheim Classic/Wooden Legacy winners were USC (2007), Wake Forest (2008), West Virginia (2009), UNLV (2010), Saint Louis (2011), Cal (2012), San Diego State (2013), Washington (2014), Michigan State (2015), UCLA (2016) and Washington State (2017).


Four of the eight schools that competed in the 2017 Wooden Legacy advanced to the 2018 postseason.  Cal State Fullerton (Big West) and San Diego State (Mountain West) advanced to the 2018 NCAA Championships.  Harvard, which tied for the Ivy League regular-season title with Penn, and Saint Mary’s (West Coast) will compete in the 2018 NIT.


The Wooden Legacy is one of several in-season bracketed college basketball tournaments owned and operated by ESPN Events, a division of ESPN.


Tim Simmons

720/244-6580 (cell) or 303/678-8484 (home/office)

2018 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour

2018 Armed Forces Merit Award (Nov. 11, 2018)

2018 Puerto Rico Tip-Off (Nov. 15, 16 & 18)

2018 Wooden Legacy (Nov. 22, 23 & 25)