PRESS RELEASE

2016 Wooden Legacy Tickets on Sale Now

Wooden Image

The UCLA Bruins Make Their Triumphant Return To Orange County For The Event Bearing The Name Of The Program’s Legendary Coach

Tickets for the 2016 Wooden Legacy will go on sale September 30 as the eight-school, bracketed in-season tournament will be played Thanksgiving weekend at two sites in Orange County.

Headlining the three-day, 12-game event will be UCLA (Pac-12 Conference) where the legendary John Wooden coached the Bruins to 620 wins in 27 seasons.  His teams captured 10 NCAA titles during his last 12 seasons, including seven in a row from 1967 to 1973.

Other schools competing in the 2016 Wooden Legacy will be CSUN (Big West), Dayton (Atlantic 10), Nebraska (Big Ten), New Mexico (Mountain West), Portland (West Coast), Texas A&M (Southeastern) and Virginia Tech (Atlantic Coast).

The opening two rounds of the Wooden Legacy will be played at Titan Gym, on the campus of Cal State Fullerton, on Thursday and Friday, November 24 and 25.  Four games, including the Wooden Legacy championship, will be played at the Honda Center on Sunday, November 27.

All-session tickets and individual tickets for Championship Sunday will be available at www.ticketmaster.com, via phone at 800/745-3000, and all Ticketmaster outlets beginning Friday, September 30. Tickets will go on sale at the Honda Center Box Office beginning Saturday, October 1. Groups of 10 or more can purchase seats by calling 714/940-2859.  Individual tickets for the opening two rounds can be purchased at the Cal State Fullerton Athletic Ticket Office or by calling 657/278-2783 beginning November 9 at 12 p.m. (PT).

All-session tickets for the 12 games range from $75 to $250.  For the final session at Honda Center, seats range from $25 to $200.

Both Dayton and Texas A&M participated in the 2016 NCAA Championships with the Aggies advancing to the “Sweet 16”.  CSUN, New Mexico, Portland, Texas A&M, UCLA and Virginia Tech will be participating in the 2016 Wooden Legacy event for the second-time.  Dayton is coached by Archie Miller, the brother of the Arizona coach (Sean), that led the Wildcats to a third-place finish in the 2016 Wooden Legacy.

The Wooden Legacy was formed in June 2013 as two vibrant, nationally-recognized in-season collegiate basketball events joined forces as the John R. Wooden Classic was merged with the Anaheim Classic that had been played the previous six years (2007-2012) at the Anaheim Convention Center.  The Wooden Classic was staged 19 years (1994-2012) at Honda Center with the first 17 events being college doubleheaders.

All 12 games of the 2016 Wooden Legacy will be televised on the ESPN Networks (ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPN3).  Fullerton/Anaheim is in the Pacific Time Zone (three hours behind ET and one hour behind of MT).

Thursday, November 24 at Titan Gym

Game 1 – Texas A&M vs. CSUN, 11 a.m. (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 p.m. MT), ESPN3

Game 2 – New Mexico vs. Virginia Tech, 1:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m. ET, 3:30 p.m. CT, 2:30 p.m. CT), ESPN

Game 3 – Dayton vs. Nebraska, 5:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m. ET, 7:30 p.m. CT, 6:30 p.m. MT), ESPNU

Game 4 – Portland vs. UCLA, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CT, 9 p.m. MT), ESPN2

Friday, November 25 at Titan Gym

Game 5 – Texas A&M/CSUN loser vs. New Mexico/Virginia Tech loser, 12 p.m. (3 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. MT), ESPNU

Game 6 – Texas A&M/CSUN winner vs. New Mexico/Virginia Tech winner, 2:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m. ET, 4:30 p.m. CT, 3:30 p.m. MT), ESPN2

Game 7 – Dayton/Nebraska loser vs. Portland/UCLA loser, 6:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. ET, 8:30 p.m. CT, 7:30 p.m. MT) ESPN3

Game 8 – Dayton/Nebraska winner vs. Portland/UCLA winner, 9 p.m. (12 a.m. ET – next day, 11 p.m. CT, 10 p.m. MT) ESPN2

Sunday, November 27 at Honda Center

Game 9 – Game 5 vs. Game 7 winners, 11 a.m. (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 p.m. MT), ESPNU

Game 10 – Game 6 vs. Game 8 losers, 1 p. m. (4 p.m. ET, 3 p.m. CT, 2 p.m. MT), ESPNU

Game 11, Championship- Game 6 vs. Game 8 winners, 5:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m. ET, 7:30 p.m. CT, 6:30 p.m. MT), ESPN

Game 12 – Game 5 and Game 7 losers, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CT, 9 p.m. MT), ESPNU

Additional ticket and travel package information can be found on the event web site at www.TheWoodenLegacy.com.


ESPN Events ESPN Events, a division of ESPN, owns and operates a large portfolio of 31 collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes three Labor Day weekend college football games; FCS opening-weekend game; 14 college bowl games, 11 college basketball events and two college award shows, which accounts for approximately 300-plus hours of programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over 700,000 attendees each year. With satellite offices in Albuquerque, Birmingham, Boca Raton, Boise, Dallas-Fort Worth, Honolulu, Las Vegas, Montgomery and St. Petersburg, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans. ESPN Events also manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program. Collegiate Football Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl (Florida); Bahamas Bowl (Nassau); Birmingham Bowl (Alabama); Cheribundi Tart Cherry Boca Raton Bowl (Florida); Camping World Kickoff (Orlando, Fla.); Celebration Bowl (Atlanta); Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise); DXL Frisco Bowl (Frisco, Texas); Gildan New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Guardian Credit Union FCS Kickoff (Montgomery, Ala.); Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu); Las Vegas Bowl (Nevada); Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); MEAC/SWAC Challenge (Baton Rouge, La.); Raycom Media Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.); The Home Depot College Football Awards (Atlanta) and Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth) Collegiate Basketball AdvoCare Invitational (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Armed Forces Classic (Ramstein Air Base, Germany); College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s (Los Angeles); Gildan Charleston Classic (South Carolina); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s  Classic presented by Corona (New York City); Jimmy V Women’s Classic presented by Corona (Hartford, Conn.); NIT Season Tip-Off (Brooklyn, N.Y.); PK80 presented by State Farm (Portland, Ore.); Puerto Rico Tip-Off (San Juan); State Farm Champions Classic (Chicago) and Wooden Legacy (Fullerton, Calif.) For more information, visit the official website, Facebook, Twitter or YouTube pages. -30- ESPN Media Contact: Anna Negron at 860-766-2233 or [email protected]; @Anna_ESPN