Middle Tennessee 2016-2017 Stats

Following their second consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament Second Round, Head Coach Kermit Davis and the Blue Raiders turn to All-Conference USA shooting guard Giddy Potts and All-Freshman point guard Tyrik Dixon to lead Middle Tennessee back to a postseason berth in 2017-18. Senior guard Ed Simpson returns from last season’s starting five and is joined in a deep back-court by junior guard Antwain Johnson. Upperclassmen Brandon Walters and Karl Gamble return the most experience in the post, which will be re-vamped with the additions of Alabama graduate transfer Nick King and red-shirt freshman Davion Thomas. Davis led the Blue Raiders to a program-best 31-5 record in 2016-17 while notching a Conference USA record 17-1 mark in league play. Middle Tennessee swept the regular season and tournament titles last season to give the Raiders a total of seven league titles across the last eight years.

Team Roster

  # Player Name Pos Class  
  0 Tyrik Dixon G SO  
  0 Antonio Green G JR  
  1 Brandon Walters F SR  
  2 Antwain Johnson G JR  
  3 Donovan Sims G FR  
  4 James Hawthorne F JR  
  5 Nick King F SR  
  10 Will Slatten G FR  
  11 Edward Simpson G SR  
  12 Therren Shelton-Szmidt G FR  
  14 Chase Miller G SO  
  15 TJ Massenburg F FR  
  20 Giddy Potts G SR  
  21 David Simmons G JR  
  25 Karl Gamble F JR  
  32 Michael Van Hooser G FR  
  35 Davion Thomas F FR