2022 MBI participant in NIT semi-finals

Texas A&M, one of the eight schools scheduled to compete in the 2022 Myrtle Beach Invitational next November, has advanced to the semi-finals of the National Invitational Tournament at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

One of the top-seeded schools in the 84th annual event, Texas A&M (26-12) will play Washington State (22-14) at 9:30 p.m. (ET) on Tuesday in a game to be televised on ESPN2.  St. Bonaventure (23-9) meets Xavier (21-13) in the first NIT semi-final contest on Tuesday at 7 p.m. to be aired on ESPN.  The two winners meet Thursday at 7 p.m. for the ESPN televised game.

Texas A&M, which has won 10 of its last 11 games with its only setback being to Tennessee in the Southeastern Conference post-season finale, is one of four schools in the 2022 Myrtle Beach Invitational field that have competed in the 2022 post-season.

Boise State (27-8), the Mountain West Conference’s regular- and post-season champions, and Chicago Loyola (25-8), the Missouri Valley’s post-season winners, competed in the NCAA Championships.  Colorado (21-12) participated in the NIT where the Pac-12 school lost to St. Bonaventure in the first round.

Other schools set to compete in the 2022 Myrtle Beach Invitational are Charlotte (17-14, Conference USA), Tulsa (11-20, American) and UMass (15-17, Atlantic 10).  One more school will be added to the field before the announcement this summer of the bracket.

The fourth annual Myrtle Beach Invitational will be played on November 17, 18 and 20 at the HTC Center on the campus of Coastal Carolina University in Conway, S. C.  All games will be televised across the ESPN networks during Feast Week.

Owned and operated by ESPN Events, tickets for the Myrtle Beach Invitational will be available for purchase this summer following the announcement of the complete tournament schedule. In the meantime, fans can secure up to $25 off each all-tournament ticket by signing up for the pre-sale at http://www.myrtlebeachinvite.com.

Past Myrtle Beach Invitational champions include UCF (2018), Baylor (2019) and Utah State (2021), which defeated Oklahoma in the finals.  Both Utah State and Oklahoma competed in 2022 NIT with 2021 Myrtle Beach Invitational participants Davidson and New Mexico State playing in the NCAA Championships.