PRESS RELEASE

Matchups for 2017 Puerto Rico Tip-Off Revealed

2018 ESPN MM Bracket-PR-ET

The matchups for the 11th annual Puerto Rico Tip-Off have been released to be played November 16, 17 and 19 at Coliseo Municpal Tomás Dones in Fajardo.

The 2017 Puerto Rico Tip-Off showcases 2017 post-season participants Boise State (Mountain West Conference), Illinois State (Missouri Valley), Iowa State (Big 12) and South Carolina (Southeastern).

South Carolina and Iowa State both competed in the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship, where the Gamecocks reached the Final Four before losing to Gonzaga 77-73 in the semifinals.  After capturing the Big 12 post-season title, Iowa State defeated Nevada in the first round of the championship, and fell to Purdue in the second round.  Both Boise State and Illinois State advanced to the second round of the NIT.

Other schools competing in the three-day, 12-game tournament include Appalachian State (Sun Belt), Tulsa (American Athletic), UTEP (Conference USA) and Western Michigan (Mid-American).

All 12 games of the 2017 Puerto Rico Tip-Off will be televised on ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPNEWS or ESPN3. All times are listed in Atlantic Standard Time.

Thursday, November 16 at Tomás Dones Coliseum in Fajardo

  • Game 1 – Illinois State vs. South Carolina, 12:30 p.m. (11:30 a.m. ET, 10:30 a.m. CT, 9:30 a.m. MT), ESPN2
  • Game 2 – Boise State vs. UTEP, 3 p.m. (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 p.m. MT), ESPNU
  • Game 3 – Iowa State vs. Appalachian State, 6:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m. ET, 4:30 p.m. CT, 3:30 p.m. MT), ESPNU
  • Game 4 – Tulsa vs. Western Michigan, 9 p.m. (8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT), ESPNEWS

Friday, November 17 at Tomás Dones Coliseum in Fajardo

  • Game 5 – Illinois State/South Carolina loser vs. Boise State/UTEP loser, 11:30 p.m. (10:30 a.m. ET, 9:30 a.m. CT, 9:30 a.m. MT), ESPNU
  • Game 6 – Illinois State/South Carolina winner vs. Boise State/UTEP winner, 2 p.m. (1 p.m. ET, 12 p.m. CT, 11 a.m. MT), ESPN2
  • Game 7 – Iowa State/Appalachian State loser vs. Tulsa/Western Michigan loser, 6 p.m. (5 p.m. ET, 4 p.m. CT, 3 p.m. MT), ESPNU
  • Game 8 – Iowa State/Appalachian State winner vs. Tulsa/Western Michigan winner 8 p.m. (7 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. MT), ESPNU

Sunday, November 19 at Tomás Dones Coliseum in Fajardo

  • Game 9 – Game 5 and Game 7 losers, 12:30 p.m. (11:30 a.m. ET, 10:30 a.m. CT, 9:30 a.m. MT), ESPN3
  • Game 10 – Game 5 and Game 7 winners, 3 p.m. (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 p.m. MT), ESPNU
  • Game 11 – Game 6 and Game 8 losers, 6 p.m. (5 p.m. ET, 4 p.m. CT, 3 p.m. MT), ESPNU
  • Game 12, Championship – Game 6 and Game 8 winners, 8:30 p.m. (7:30 p.m. ET, 6:30 p.m. CT, 5:30 p.m. MT), ESPN2

Non-bracketed games – Bridgewater at Appalachian State, November 12; Western Michigan at South Carolina, November 13.

In addition to tickets, travel packages and discounted hotel accommodations are also available to fans through Anthony Travel, the official travel provider of the Tire Pros Puerto Rico Tip-Off. Packages include hotel accommodations, game-day transportation, an all-session pass to the games and access to an exclusive banquet reception with the players and coaches (limited availability). For more information or to book your travel to the tournament, please visit www.anthonytravel.com/espn/puerto-rico-tipoff or call (888) 632-6951.

Puerto Rico, a family-friendly tournament and resort destination, hosts the teams to three days of games, practices and immersion in Puerto Rican culture.  For additional information, please visit www.puertoricotipoff.com.


ESPN Events ESPN Events, a division of ESPN, owns and operates a large portfolio of 31 collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes three Labor Day weekend college football games; FCS opening-weekend game; 14 college bowl games, 11 college basketball events and two college award shows, which accounts for approximately 300-plus hours of programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over 700,000 attendees each year. With satellite offices in Albuquerque, Birmingham, Boca Raton, Boise, Dallas-Fort Worth, Honolulu, Las Vegas, Montgomery and St. Petersburg, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans. ESPN Events also manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program. Collegiate Football AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Bahamas Bowl (Nassau); Birmingham Bowl (Alabama); Boca Raton Bowl (Florida); Camping World Kickoff (Orlando, Fla.); Celebration Bowl (Atlanta); Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise); Frisco Bowl (Frisco, Texas); Gildan New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Guardian Credit Union FCS Kickoff (Montgomery, Ala.); Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu); Las Vegas Bowl (Nevada); Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); MEAC/SWAC Challenge (Baton Rouge, La.); Raycom Media Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.); St. Petersburg Bowl (Florida); Texas Bowl (Houston); The Home Depot College Football Awards (Atlanta) and Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth) Collegiate Basketball AdvoCare Invitational (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Armed Forces Classic (Ramstein Air Base, Germany); College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s (Los Angeles); Gildan Charleston Classic (South Carolina); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s  Classic presented by Corona (New York City); Jimmy V Women’s Classic presented by Corona (TBD); NIT Season Tip-Off (Brooklyn, N.Y.); PK80 (Portland, Ore.); Puerto Rico Tip-Off (San Juan); State Farm Champions Classic (Chicago) and Wooden Legacy (Fullerton, Calif.) For more information, visit the official website, Facebook, Twitter or YouTube pages. ESPN Media Contact: Anna Negron at 860-766-2233 or [email protected].