2018 Participant Purdue Reaches Sweet 16 For 2nd Straight Year

Purdue - Sweet 16

The 2018 Charleston Classic field sent five of its eight teams to the NCAA Tournament, with Purdue reaching the Sweet 16 for the 2nd consecutive year with a win over Butler. The Boilermakers, who will be making their first Charleston Classic appearance in November, face Texas Tech in the East Regional on Friday. The No. 1 Seed in the East Regional is Villanova, who won the 2016 Charleston Classic.

Five returning NCAA Tournament teams will be the most in event history, besting the mark of three set in 2013 and 2012. Alabama defeated fellow participant Virginia Tech in the First Round, while Wichita State and Atlantic 10 tournament champion Davidson were also selected. Those five teams will be joined by Appalachian State, Ball State, and Colonial Athletic Association regular season champion Northeastern in the 2018 Charleston Classic field.

Two participants from the 2017 Charleston Classic were selected to the tournament: Auburn as a #4 seed and Clemson as a #5 seed, both in the Midwest Region. Clemson defeated Auburn on Sunday and will face top seed Kansas on Friday.