Preseason top-5 in most publications, Kansas returns two starters and six letterwinners from last season's 31-5 team which won an NCAA-record-tying 13th-straight regular-season conference title, a streak which started in 2004-05. The 2016-17 Jayhawks also won the CBE Hall of Fame Classic and entered the 2017 NCAA Championship as a No. 1 seed, advancing to the Elite Eight. Senior guards Devonte' Graham and Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk return as regular starters, while junior guard Lagerald Vick was also in the rotation with six starts. Sophomore center Udoka Azubuike also had six starts in his 11 games played in 2016-17 before an injury ended his season. Expect to see returning sophomore forward Mitch Lightfoot's minutes to increase. Sophomore guard Malik Newman, who sat out last year after transferring from Mississippi State, will play a significant role as will guards Marcus Garrett and Sam Cunliffe and forward Billy Preston. Garrett and Preston are freshmen, while Cunliffe is a sophomore who will sit out the fall semester after transferring from Arizona State last December.

Team News


Team Roster

  # Player Name Pos Class  
  0 Marcus Garrett G SO  
  2 Charlie Moore G SO  
  5 Quentin Grimes G FR  
  10 Elijah Elliott G FR  
  11 Devon Dotson G FR  
  12 Chris Teahan G SO  
  13 K.J. Lawson G SO  
  20 Garrett Luinstra G FR  
  22 Silvio De Sousa F SO  
  30 Ochai Agbaji G FR  
  33 David McCormack F FR  
  35 Udoka Azubuike C JR  
  44 Mitch Lightfoot F JR