2016 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic Bracket Revealed

For Release – Thursday, July 14, 2016

Contacts: Neal Iwamoto, 808-956-7506 or [email protected]

ESPN Media Contact: Anna Negron, [email protected] 

2016 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic Bracket Revealed

Eight Teams ready for Hawaii’s Holiday College Basketball Tournament

The bracket for the 2016 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic – to be played Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Dec. 22, 23, & 25 in Honolulu – has been set. The eight competing teams include Illinois State, San Diego State, San Francisco, Southern Miss, Stephen F. Austin, Tulsa, Utah and host Hawai‘i.

The multi-day, destination event will feature 12 games over three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracketed-tournament format. Six of the 12 matchups, including the championship game, will be showcased on ESPN2. ESPNU will carry four games, and two will be carried exclusively on ESPN3.

Entering its eighth year, the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic will again be played at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, where it has become a holiday tradition on the island of O‘ahu.

The tournament tips off with Tulsa (American) pitted against Stephen F. Austin (Southland) at 11:30 a.m. HT on ESPNU, followed by San Diego State (Mountain West) versus Southern Miss (C-USA) at 2 p.m. on ESPN2. Thursday evening’s session will feature San Francisco (West Coast) versus Utah (Pac-12) at 6 p.m. on ESPNU and will wrap-up with a battle between Illinois State (Missouri Valley) and tournament host Hawai‘i (Big West) at 8:30 p.m. on ESPNU.

Five of the participating teams appeared in the 2015-16 postseason, including Hawai‘i, San Diego State, Stephen F. Austin, Tulsa and Utah.

For more information, please visit

Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Schedule subject to change)

Date Time (HT) Game Network
Thu, Dec 22 11:30 a.m. Tulsa vs. Stephen F. Austin ESPNU
  2 p.m. San Diego State vs. Southern Miss ESPN2
  6 p.m. San Francisco vs. Utah ESPNU
  8:30 p.m. Illinois State vs. Hawai‘i ESPN2
Fri, Dec 23 11:30 a.m. Consolation #1 ESPN2
  1:30 p.m. Semifinal #1 ESPN3
  5 p.m. Semifinal #2 ESPN2
  7:30 p.m. Consolation #2 ESPNU
Sun, Dec 25 8 or 10:30 a.m. 7th-place Game ESPNU or ESPN3
  8 or 10:30 a.m. 5th-place Game ESPNU or ESPN3
  1:30 p.m. 3rd-place Game ESPN2
  3:30 p.m. Championship Game ESPN2

ESPN Events ESPN Events, a division of ESPN, owns and operates a large portfolio of 31 collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes three Labor Day weekend college football games; FCS opening-weekend game; 14 college bowl games, 10 college basketball events, a college softball event and two college award shows, which accounts for approximately 300-plus hours of programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over 700,000 attendees each year. With satellite offices in Albuquerque, Birmingham, Boca Raton, Boise, Dallas-Fort Worth, Honolulu, Las Vegas, Montgomery and St. Petersburg, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans. ESPN Events also manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program. Collegiate Football Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl (Tampa, Fla.); Birmingham Bowl (Alabama); Cheribundi Tart Cherry Boca Raton Bowl (Florida); Camping World Kickoff (Orlando, Fla.); Celebration Bowl (Atlanta); Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise); Frisco Bowl (Texas); Guardian Credit Union FCS Kickoff (Montgomery, Ala.); Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu); Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); Makers Wanted Bahamas Bowl (Nassau);  MEAC/SWAC Challenge (Atlanta); Mitsubishi Motors Las Vegas Bowl (Nevada);   New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Raycom Media Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.); SERVOPRO First Responder Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth);  The Home Depot College Football Awards (Atlanta) Collegiate Basketball AdvoCare Invitational (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Armed Forces Classic (Fort Bliss, Texas); Charleston Classic (South Carolina); College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s (Los Angeles); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s Classic presented by Corona (New York City); Jimmy V Women’s Classic Presented by Corona (South Bend, Ind.); Myrtle Beach Invitational (Conway, S.C.); NIT Season Tip-Off (Brooklyn, N.Y.); State Farm Champions Classic (Indianapolis) and Wooden Legacy (Fullerton, Calif.) Collegiate Softball St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational (Clearwater, Fla.) For more information, visit the official website, Facebook, Twitter or YouTube pages.