Bracket Announced for 2013 Diamond Head Classic

The bracket for the 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic – held Christmas week, Sunday, Monday and Wednesday, Dec. 22, 23 & 25, at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, Hawai’i – has been set for the eight competing teams: host Hawaii, plus, George Mason, Iowa State, Saint Mary’s, Oregon State, Akron, Boise State and  South Carolina.

ESPNU will carry eight of the tournament games, including all four first-round games. ESPN2 will air the third-place game and the Championship Game on Wednesday, Dec. 25, along with the one of the semifinals on Monday, Dec. 23.

Tournament highlights:

  • ESPNU will show all four first-round games, featuring Iowa State vs. George Mason, Oregon State vs. Akron, South Carolina vs. Saint Mary’s and Boise State vs. Hawai’i
  • Six of the eight teams grabbed 2013 postseason berths

The 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men’s college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match.

Individual session tickets and all-session packages will go on sale to the public on Monday, Sept.23.

The family-friendly tournament and resort destination of Honolulu will host the teams to three days of play, practices and the unique spirit of Aloha from the Hawaiian Islands. Teams will also have the opportunity to attend the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl played during the same week. View our Travel Packages.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

The University of Southern California won the inaugural tournament in 2009, followed by Butler in 2010, Kansas State in 2011 and Arizona in 2012.

Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Schedule subject to change)

Date Time (HT) Game Network
Sun, Dec 22 12:30 p.m. Iowa State vs. George Mason ESPNU
2:30 p.m. Oregon State vs. Akron ESPNU
6:00 p.m. South Carolina vs. Saint Mary’s ESPNU
8:00 p.m. Boise State vs. Hawaii ESPNU
Mon, Dec 23 9:30 a.m. Consolation #1 ESPNU
11:30 a.m. Semifinal #1 ESPNU
4:00 p.m. Semifinal #2 ESPN2
6:30 p.m. Consolation #2 ESPNU
Wed, Dec 25 8:30 a.m. 7th-place Game ESPN3
11:00 a.m. 5th-place Game ESPNU
1:30 p.m. 3rd-place Game ESPN2
3:30 p.m. Championship Game ESPN2
Sat, Dec 28 TBD Akron at South Carolina^ TBD

^ – Non-bracketed Game

ESPN Events ESPN Events, a division of ESPN, owns and operates a large portfolio of 34 collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes three Labor Day weekend college football games, the FCS opening-weekend game, 15 college bowl games, 11 college basketball events, a college softball event, an esports event and two college award shows, which accounts for approximately 375-plus hours of live programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over 800,000 attendees each year. With satellite offices in Albuquerque, Birmingham, Boca Raton, Boise, Dallas-Fort Worth, Honolulu, Las Vegas, Montgomery and Tampa, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans. For more information, visit the official websiteFacebookTwitter or YouTube pages. Collegiate Football Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl (Atlanta); Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl (Tampa, Fla.); Birmingham Bowl (Alabama); Cheribundi Boca Raton Bowl (Florida); Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.); Camping World Kickoff (Orlando, Fla.); Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise); Frisco Bowl (Texas);   Guardian Credit Union FCS Kickoff (Montgomery, Ala.); Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); Makers Wanted Bahamas Bowl (Nassau);  MEAC/SWAC Challenge (Atlanta); Mitsubishi Motors Las Vegas Bowl (Nevada); Myrtle Beach Bowl (South Carolina); New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); SERVPRO First Responder Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); SoFi Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu); The Home Depot College Football Awards (Atlanta) Collegiate Basketball Armed Forces Classic (Anchorage, Alaska); Charleston Classic (South Carolina); College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s (Los Angeles); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s Classic presented by Corona (New York City); Jimmy V Women’s Classic Presented by Corona (TBD) Myrtle Beach Invitational (Conway, S.C.); NIT Season Tip-Off (Brooklyn, N.Y.); Orlando Invitational (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.);  Phil Knight Invitational (Portland, Ore.); State Farm Champions Classic (New York City) and Wooden Legacy (Fullerton, Calif.) Collegiate Softball St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational Presented by Wilson (Clearwater, Fla.) Collegiate Esports Collegiate Esports Championship (Houston) For more information, visit the official website, Facebook, Twitter or YouTube pages.