Field Set For 2014 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic


The 2014 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic field is complete with the addition of DePaulUniversity and LoyolaMarymountUniversity. The Blue Demons and Lions join previously announced squads Colorado, George Washington, Nebraska, Ohio, WichitaState and host school Hawai’i in the sixth edition of the tournament.

DePaul will be the first BIG EAST squad to appear in the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic. The Blue Demons boast a rich basketball history with more than 1,400 all-time victories and 22 NCAA Championship appearances. This year’s team features a pair of the BIG EAST’s top freshman in Billy Garrett Jr. and Tommy Hamilton IV. Garrett leads all BIG EAST rookies in scoring and assists while Hamilton is the top freshman rebounder in the conference.

Loyola Marymount will make its first appearance in the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic. It marks the fifth time in six years that a West Coast Conference squad will compete in the tournament. The Lions have advanced to the postseason twice in the last four seasons and are just two years removed from a 21-win campaign, the team’s best season since the storied 1989-90 squad advanced to the NCAA Elite Eight.

The two squads join a field highlighted by WichitaState. The Shockers, who advanced to the 2013 NCAA Final Four, just completed an undefeated regular-season and are ranked No. 2 in the latest Associated Press poll.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men’s college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games through three days at the StanSheriffCenter in Honolulu, Hawai’i. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through the bracket. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in the championship game on the final day of the tournament.

Previous tournament champions of the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic include USC (2009), Butler (2010), KansasState (2011), Arizona (2012) and IowaState (2013). Arizona is currently the top-ranked team in the nation, while IowaState is ranked No. 8.

The family-friendly tournament includes three days of tournament play, practices, events and travel experiences unique to the islands of Hawai’i.

Additional information can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic’s official Web site at

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

ESPN Events ESPN Events, a division of ESPN, owns and operates a large portfolio of 34 collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes three Labor Day weekend college football games, the FCS opening-weekend game, 15 college bowl games, 11 college basketball events, a college softball event, an esports event and two college award shows, which accounts for approximately 375-plus hours of live programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over 800,000 attendees each year. With satellite offices in Albuquerque, Birmingham, Boca Raton, Boise, Dallas-Fort Worth, Honolulu, Las Vegas, Montgomery and Tampa, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans. For more information, visit the official websiteFacebookTwitter or YouTube pages. Collegiate Football Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl (Atlanta); Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl (Tampa, Fla.); Birmingham Bowl (Alabama); Cheribundi Boca Raton Bowl (Florida); Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.); Camping World Kickoff (Orlando, Fla.); Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise); Frisco Bowl (Texas);   Guardian Credit Union FCS Kickoff (Montgomery, Ala.); Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); Makers Wanted Bahamas Bowl (Nassau);  MEAC/SWAC Challenge (Atlanta); Mitsubishi Motors Las Vegas Bowl (Nevada); Myrtle Beach Bowl (South Carolina); New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); SERVPRO First Responder Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); SoFi Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu); The Home Depot College Football Awards (Atlanta) Collegiate Basketball Armed Forces Classic (Anchorage, Alaska); Charleston Classic (South Carolina); College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s (Los Angeles); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s Classic presented by Corona (New York City); Jimmy V Women’s Classic Presented by Corona (TBD) Myrtle Beach Invitational (Conway, S.C.); NIT Season Tip-Off (Brooklyn, N.Y.); Orlando Invitational (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.);  Phil Knight Invitational (Portland, Ore.); State Farm Champions Classic (New York City) and Wooden Legacy (Fullerton, Calif.) Collegiate Softball St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational Presented by Wilson (Clearwater, Fla.) Collegiate Esports Collegiate Esports Championship (Houston) For more information, visit the official website, Facebook, Twitter or YouTube pages.