Full Field Confirmed for 2014 Orlando Classic


The eight-team field for the 2014 Orlando Classic (formerly the Old Spice Classic) will feature the current No. 1 and No. 2 ranked teams, Michigan State and Kansas, along with Georgia Tech, Marquette, Rider, Tennessee, Santa Clara and Xavier. The ninth annual event will be held Thanksgiving weekend, Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 27, 28 and 30, at the HP Field House at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex near Orlando, Fla.

Michigan State is ranked No. 1 in this week’s Associated Press preseason poll, while Kansas is ranked No. 2 and Marquette is No. 25. Five of the teams are making their second appearance in the Orlando Classic: Marquette (2009); Michigan State (2008); Rider (2007); Tennessee (2008) and Xavier (2009).

The 2014 Orlando Classic, a bracket-format tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match Sunday, Nov. 30.  Gonzaga captured the 2012 title, its second tournament championship (also 2008). Previous winners were Dayton (2011), Notre Dame (2010), Florida State (2009), North Carolina State (2007) and Arkansas (2006).

For more information, including travel packages, visit the Orlando Classic web site at www.oldspiceclassic.com.  The Orlando Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, a subsidiary of ESPN.