Post-season projections for 2023 Myrtle Beach Invitational

Four schools scheduled to play in the 2023 Myrtle Beach Invitational were listed as entrants in the “2024 NCAA Tournament Bracketology” produced by ESPN’s Joe Lunardi.

The 2023 Myrtle Beach Invitational will be played November 16, 17 and 19 at the HTC Center on the campus of Coastal Carolina University in Conway, S.C. All games will be televised across the ESPN platforms.

Forcasted to finish atop their conference’s regular-season standings – the College of Charleston (Colonial), Furman (Southern), Liberty (Atlantic Sun) and Vermont (American East), all four schools are projected by Lunardi as league automatic qualifiers for the 2024 NCAA Tournament.

Liberty, which will be competing for the Conference USA title this coming season, is listed as the 12th seed in the Midwest Regional with Furman one spot down as both schools are projected to play in the opening 2024 NCAA round Spokane against Villanova and North Carolina, respectively.

Lunardi assigned College of Charleston (seed 13) and Vermont (seed 14) to the West Regional with each school’s opening NCAA games in Pittsburgh. Charleston is projected to play Alabama while Vermont meets Marquette.

After winning post-season conference tournaments, the College of Charleston, Furman and Vermont competed in the NCAA Championships. Liberty participated in the National Invitational Tournament after losing its league finale at Kennesaw State 67-66.

College of Charleston and Furman lost to Final Four participant San Diego State in the NCAA’s South Regional opening rounds in Orlando. Before meeting the Aztecs, Furman upset fourth-seeded Virginia in the first round.

Vermont saw its 15-game winning streak snapped in the first round of the NCAAs as the Catamounts lost to second-seeded Marquette in Columbus. Liberty rebounded from its setback to Kennesaw State in its conference post-season finale by defeating Villanova in the NIT opener before losing to Wisconsin in Madison.

Other schools in the fifth annual Myrtle Beach Invitational are Coastal Carolina (Sun Belt), Saint Louis (Atlantic 10), Wichita State (American) and Wyoming (Mountain West). Host Coastal Carolina will be making its second appearance in the Myrtle Beach Invitational after placing fourth in the 2019 event where the Chanticleers upset Utah in the opening round before losing to Baylor and Mississippi State.

Owned and operated by ESPN Events, the Myrtle Beach Invitational will make tickets available for purchase this summer following the announcement of the complete tournament schedule. In the meantime, fans can sign up for first access to tickets at

Past Myrtle Beach Invitational champions include UCF (2018), Baylor (2019), Utah State (2021) and UMass (2022). Three teams in the 2022 Myrtle Beach Invitational competed in the post-season with Boise State and Texas A&M advancing to the NCAAs while Charlotte captured the College Basketball Invitational title.