Bracket Announced for 2013 Diamond Head Classic

The bracket for the 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic – held Christmas week, Sunday, Monday and Wednesday, Dec. 22, 23 & 25, at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, Hawai’i – has been set for the eight competing teams: host Hawaii, plus, George Mason, Iowa State, Saint Mary’s, Oregon State, Akron, Boise State and  South Carolina.

ESPNU will carry eight of the tournament games, including all four first-round games. ESPN2 will air the third-place game and the Championship Game on Wednesday, Dec. 25, along with the one of the semifinals on Monday, Dec. 23.

Tournament highlights:

The 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men’s college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match.

Individual session tickets and all-session packages will go on sale to the public on Monday, Sept.23.

The family-friendly tournament and resort destination of Honolulu will host the teams to three days of play, practices and the unique spirit of Aloha from the Hawaiian Islands. Teams will also have the opportunity to attend the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl played during the same week. View our Travel Packages.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

The University of Southern California won the inaugural tournament in 2009, followed by Butler in 2010, Kansas State in 2011 and Arizona in 2012.

Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Schedule subject to change)

Date Time (HT) Game Network
Sun, Dec 22 12:30 p.m. Iowa State vs. George Mason ESPNU
2:30 p.m. Oregon State vs. Akron ESPNU
6:00 p.m. South Carolina vs. Saint Mary’s ESPNU
8:00 p.m. Boise State vs. Hawaii ESPNU
Mon, Dec 23 9:30 a.m. Consolation #1 ESPNU
11:30 a.m. Semifinal #1 ESPNU
4:00 p.m. Semifinal #2 ESPN2
6:30 p.m. Consolation #2 ESPNU
Wed, Dec 25 8:30 a.m. 7th-place Game ESPN3
11:00 a.m. 5th-place Game ESPNU
1:30 p.m. 3rd-place Game ESPN2
3:30 p.m. Championship Game ESPN2
Sat, Dec 28 TBD Akron at South Carolina^ TBD

^ – Non-bracketed Game